Great Scott! Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship, 25.04.10
Andy Scott bounced back from a disappointing first round result to win the second round of the Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship at Knockhill on Sunday (April 25).

The Scotsman won the Supercar A final in which pole starter and British championship points leader David Binks (Newcastle upon Tyne) finished last after losing over 40 seconds when his car stopped in an incident that started when Pat Doran (Winkleigh), who also started from the front row of the grid, spun in the first corner. While Doran recovered and chased Scott (Dumfries) home in second place, Binks could do no more than complete the race in eighth place after getting his car restarted.

Andy Grant (Barnstaple) was third in the A final and completed the front starters in the Superfinal.

The drag race to the first corner in the Superfinal was close, Scott and Grant running side-by-side to the turn but with Scott fractionally later on the brakes and easing into the lead. Completing the first lap with a brave run across the tricky gravel section of the lap, Scott was almost two seconds up on his rivals entering the second lap and maintained his pace to take a clear win. Scott was overjoyed with his first event victory after less than a year in the Supercar class, ďItís great to win because the team has put a lot of work into the car over the winter and everyone was a but down after round one. Itís specially good to win at Knockhill and in Scotland because Iíve a lot of extra supporters and guests here today, it couldnít have been better,Ē said Scott.

Grant took a personal best finish in second place and in only the second start with his new Ford Focus while Gareth Wood (Newcastle upon Tyne) also claimed his best yet British championship result, making the most of the slippery conditions to urge his Subaru Impreza home in third place, ahead of current title holder Doran.

Fifth place in the Superfinal for SuperModified class winner Julian Godfrey (Heathfield) moved the Sussex-based engineer into the lead of the championship after two events.

Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship, round two, Knockhill April 25:

Superfinal (5 laps): 1 Andy Scott (Peugeot 306) 4m07.390s; 2 Andy Grant (Ford Focus) +5.634s; 3 Gareth Wood (Subaru Impreza); 4 Pat Doran (Ford Fiesta ST); 5 Julian Godfrey (Ford Fiesta ST S1600); 6 Mike Howlin (Ford Fiesta ST RWD); 7 Simon Horton (Subaru Impreza); 8 Lawrence Gibson (MG Metro 6R4).

Championship: 1 Godfrey 48; 2 Scott 45; 3 Grant 45; 4 Binks 44; 5 Howlin 42; 6 Doran 40

Next event: Blyton ĎNight Raceí June 12

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008