Britain Adopts the Euro
The Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship will adopt European standards when the first event of the 2010 season is held at Lydden Hill Race Circuit on Easter Sunday and Monday. The move to run the prestigious Easter event using race starting procedures borrowed from the FIA European championship is part of the development of the British championship which is growing in stature.

The British championship event will also feature the ‘Joker Lap’ element that is used in the European championship. The ‘Joker Lap’ is an extra, longer, section of track through which each competitor must pass once in each race. The idea is to force a change in the race order and to add an additional tactical edge to the races. The ‘Joker Lap’ is now mandatory in the European Rallycross championship, but this will be the first time that it has been used in a British national event. Together with the grids for qualifying heats being formed in European-style five-abreast starts, the ‘Joker Lap’ will bring a visual difference and new excitement for British Rallycross fans. “We are developing and improving the Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship. Adopting the best ideas and practices from the European championship is a way in which we can move forward,” said championship promoter Amy Doran who hopes to be able to use European systems at other tracks too. “The layout of some tracks will make it difficult to introduce these ideas everywhere immediately, but if they are popular and successful at Lydden then I hope we can introduce them where possible this year and to other tracks in the future.”

Fireworks as Belgians and Brits meet
The traditional Easter Monday British championship event at Lydden has been expanded and will begin on Easter Sunday this year to accommodate an expanded programme that also includes the Belgian Rallycross Championship. The Belgian and British events will run concurrently, with on-track action from 1230 on Sunday April 4 and from 0900 on Easter Monday.

The event is the first round of the Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship and round two of the Belgian championship, the opening event of which was won by Dutchman Jos Kuypers (Ford Focus ST) at Maasmechelen on March 7.

British championship promoter Lydden Hill Motorsport Club is also organising a firework display on the Sunday evening of Easter weekend as part of what is certain to be an action -packed start to the British championship season.

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008