Pirelli BRC Star Driver line up almost complete
International Rally Yorkshire, the final round of the 2009 MSA British Rally Championship added two more names to the Pirelli Star Driver final shootout.

Showing maturity and speed in his borrowed Mitsubishi Evo 10, Stuart Jones took the final event place at the shootout, the winner of which will receive a fully funded drive in the 2010 MSA British Rally Championship.

One driver has been nominated from each of the six BRC rallies, but since the final round saw the conclusion of the Swift Sport Cup, the Junior winner of the one-make series, Luke Pinder, was also added to the list.

The final round of the Citroën Racing Trophy, Rallye Le Touquet Pas de Calais, which takes place this weekend, will see the last finalist chosen for the competition. But since Marty McCormack already has a nomination from his home Ulster Rally, it will be down to Jason Pritchard to try and steal the Junior win in France and add his own name as the last finalist.

Pinder is currently the only driver to have competed in the 2008 and 2009 finals and along with Pritchard has benefited from prize money throughout the season. This “Pirelli Cup” paid prize money to all the runners up from the 2008 Pirelli Star Driver shootout who contested the 2009 BRC, a final a total of £8500 split between Pritchard, Pinder and Andreas Sjölander.

The 2009 Pirelli Star Driver competition will take place next week at an undisclosed location, the winner of the 2010 Prize Drive announced on Thursday 8th October with his car confirmed at the BRC awards ceremony at the end of the month.

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008