Former Champions join BRC Challenge
The British Rally Championship’s support series, the BRC Challenge, has received registrations from former BTRDA and one-make Champions to make the 2009 season an interesting and competitive year.

The six round championship, which has an innovative format allowing a choice of “overseas” events, has attracted a good range of competitors, notable amongst them, the Constantine Brothers who are joining the fray, campaigning their distinctive green Corsa. They have several class victories in the highly competitive BTRDA series to their credit.

Also with bags of experience (and the most senior of the drivers) is Martin Shaw; Five times Lada Challenge champion, Martin has been rallying for over 20 years, longer than some of the drivers have been alive.

At the other end of the age scale is 17 year-old Callum Black with just three events to his credit, but no doubt dad Steve will have some good advice to steer the youngster on the right track.

Brother and Sister crew James and Helen Alexander will be out in their specially converted Peugeot 106. James being the only paraplegic driver in British rallying, he has hand controls for the accelerator and brake, while the electric clutch is operated by use of a button on the gear lever.

Neil Matthews adds his experience and class wins in ANCRO and Welsh Championships to the mix, along with Julian Wilkes who has had success at both BTRDA and National level. Neil Coalter is a former Northern Irish, Scottish and Stars of the Future championship contender, taking class wins along the way.

The BRCC also has some returnees including 2008 third placed driver James Watts and quick Ka driver Callum Bendall. But the majority are either new to the series, or haven't contested it for a number of years.

The Challenge gets underway on the Bulldog Rally on 28th March, then follows the best rallies in the British Isles, including a choice of Isle of Man orUlster (both double headers), making six rounds which represent excellent value for money and benefit from TV coverage on Sky Sports.

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008