Galli collects ‘Colin McRae Trophy’ in Greece
Stobart VK M-Sport Ford driver Gigi Galli has won the inaugural Colin McRae Trophy, offered by the organisers of the Acropolis Rally of Greece, by winning the 15.14 kilometre Avlonas 1 stage today with an average speed of 100.77kph.

The Organising Committee of the BP Ultimate Acropolis Rally in commemoration of the late, great, Colin McRae decided to create the Colin McRae Trophy to award to the crew who achieved the highest average speed among all participants on any given stage, except for the two super specials.

Galli grew up in rallying idolising McRae before he began to make his mark in the WRC in 1999. He shares similar traits to the late Scotsman who was also renowned for his flamboyant style both on and off the stage. It is therefore fitting that Galli becomes the first competitor to put his hands around the trophy.

Stobart VK M-Sport Ford Team Driver Gigi Galli said:
“It is a very special feeling and a big honour to receive this award. Colin was a great hero of mine and to be compared to him is a real pleasure. My rally has not gone according to plan but I pushed as hard as I could when I could to get some fastest times and I’m sure he would have done the same thing in that position. People say we drive in the same style with a lot of energy and passion and it is fantastic when I hear this. Even with a bad rally this has really lifted my spirits.”

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008