First for Binks in Belgium
In scorching heat, the fourth round of the Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship took place at Massmechelen in Belgium on Sunday (July 11). The event produced a landmark victory for David Binks (Newcastle upon Tyne) who gained his first Britih championship event win in his 11 year career. Championship leader Andy Grant (Barnstaple) finished second ahead of top SuperModified runner Mike Howlin (Haverfordwest) who came through a gruelling event in third.

Pole for the Superfinal was taken by Pat Doran (Winkleigh) who had won the A final. His progress through the Superfinal ended on lap three, after his Fiesta suffered damage to its rear suspension Ė a legacy of contact in the earlier A final.

In contrast Binks had only made his way into the Superfinal by via the the Supercar B final in which he finished second to Steve Hill who went out of the A final with suspension failure on his Mitsubishi Lancer.

Grant made the best start in the Superfinal from the outside of the front row, and took the lead in his Focus. Hounded by Binks and Julian Godfrey (Heathfield), Grant was first to use the 'Joker Lap' on the fourth lap. Rejoining behind Godfrey, the Focus driver was slowed when Godfrey's race came to an because of engine problems. The delay gave Binks enough of a gap to retain the lead when he took the Joker Lap on his final tour.

Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship, round four, Maasmechelen (B) July 11

Superfinal (five laps) 1 David Binks (Ford Fiesta ST ERC)3m24.557s; 2 Andy Grant (Ford Focus ERC) 3m26.447s; 3 Mike Howlin (Ford Fiesta ST Millington rwd) 3m38.757s; 4 Julian Godfrey (Ford Fiesta ST) 4 laps; 5 Pat Doran (Ford Fiesta ST ERC) 3 laps; 6 "Mad Mark" Watson (CitroŽn Xsara ERC) 0 laps; 7 Andy Scott (Peugeot 306 4x4 Turbo) 0 laps; 8 Simon Horton (Subaru Impreza) 0 laps.

Championship 1 Grant 99; 2 Doran 91; 3 Binks 91; 4 Howlin 85; 5 Godfrey 84; 6 Scott 77

Next event: Mallory Park, August 8

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008