Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship, 05.04.10
David Binks (Newcastle) is the points leader after the first round of the Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship.

The traditional Easter Monday season opener was expanded to run over two days this year, the event also forming a qualifying round of the Belgian Rallycross Championship. In addition to this, European championship teams for Ford (OlsbergsMSE) and CitroŽn (KHM) used the event for competitive testing ahead of their season starting next month.

The different championships and competitors raced together and as the event neared its climax it was British comptitor Kevin Procter (Northallerton) who led the way. After starting from pole position Procter won the Supercar A final, leading home Dutchman Jos Kuypers and Englishman Liam Doran (Sittingbourne), the latter having his first event in the KHM CitroŽn C4 that he will race in the European Rallycross Championship this year.

Kuypers chose not to start in the Superfinal, leaving Procter and Doran to be joined by reigning Belgian champion Jochen Coox and his compatriot Koen Pauwels. Binks started fifth on the grid, which was completed by the top three drivers from the British championship SuperModified (two-wheel drive) category, Julian Godfrey (Heathfield), Jamie Lea (Wrexham) and Mike Howlin (Haverfordwest).

Procter and Doran were side-by-side in the first corner of the Superfinal, Doran taking the lead by running a wide line in the first corner and going around the outside of Procter. The two remained evenly matched until the second lap when Procter took his turn in the 'Joker Lap' section. Closing quickly on Doran again in the late stages of the race, Procter may have challenged for the lead when Doran took the 'Joker Lap' but was denied his chance when a component failure in the driveline of his Ford Focus pitched the car into a spin and out of the race with a lap left to run. Procter's problem left Doran with breathing space and he completed his first event as a CitroŽn driver by taking the win ahead of Pauwels.

In his first event with a fully competitive Supercar, Binks produced a perfect blend of speed and caution, avoiding the incidents of the day and bringing his new Ford Fiesta ST home in one piece and as the highest placed British championship competitor in third. The result means that Binks leads the scoring in the Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship after one of the eight events and will head into what is effectively his 'home' event at Knockhill in Scotland later this month with a useful advantage over his rivals.

Superfinal (5.5 laps) 1 Liam Doran (CitroŽn C4 ERC) 4m02.019s; 2 Koen Pauwels (Ford Focus ST ERC) + 1.09s; 3 David Binks (Ford Fiesta ST ERC); 4 Edwin Geraerts (Ford Focus ERC); 5 Julian Godfrey (Ford Fiesta S1600); 6 Jamie Lea (Toyota MR2); 7 Mike Howlin (Ford Fiesta ST rwd); 8 Kevin Procter (Ford Focus ST ERC).
Championship after one of eight rounds:
1 Binks 20; 2 Godfrey 17; 3 Lea 15; 4 Howlin 13; 5 Steve Cozens (Renault ClioSport V6) 12; 6 Phil Chicken (VW Golf IV) 11.
Next event:
Knockhill April 25

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008