Stobart celebrate Spirit of the Rally in Wales
The Stobart VK M-Sport Ford team are celebrating winning the Abu Dhabi ĎSpirit of the Rallyí award at their home event, Rally GB, for the support shown to Armed Services charity Help for Heroes during the final round of the FIA World Rally Championship.

The Abu Dhabi Spirit of the Rally award, created by the Abu Dhabi Tourism Authority, is presented at each WRC round in recognition of an outstanding feat of leadership, integrity, respect or teamwork.

Matthew Wilson proudly carried Help for Heroes decals on his Ford Focus RS WRC throughout the rally as the team showed their respect for Britainís armed forces and the work done by Help for Heroes in assisting wounded soldiers on their return from combat in Iraq and Afghanistan. Wilson and co-driver Scott Martin were delighted to meet volunteers from the charity on Saturday as they visited the Stobart Service Park in Cardiff.

The teamís lead sponsor Stobart Group has a long history of working with the British services which makes this weekendís link-up between the team and the charity particularly fitting. The iconic Eddie Stobart trucks have been supplying foodstuffs and other goods to British NAAFI army bases in Germany since 1998 and continue to work closely with the Ministry of Defence.

Help for Heroes, which is celebrating its second anniversary this month, has raised more than £30 million to upgrade rehabilitation facilities for returning servicemen at Headley Court in Surrey and to build a series of Army Recovery Centres throughout the UK.

Stobart Group Chief Operating Officer William Stobart who attended Rally GB said:
ďAt Stobart Group we place a lot of emphasis on our corporate social responsibility policy and itís fantastic that we can link in charitable activities with our world rally programme. We have had a long association, and provided logistic solutions, to the Ministry of Defence and weíre delighted to be putting something positive and helpful back into the armed forces.

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008