A strong performance from Symtech Racing at the Rzeszowski Rally
The fourth round of the Polish Rally Championship was a great success for the Subaru Poland team. The factory crew of Kajetan Kajetanowicz and co-driver Jarek Baran claimed a magnificent third place overall with their Subaru Impreza STR09 run by Belgian outfit Symtech Racing, winning the Group N category as well!

The rally, based in the Rzeszow region, proved to be incredibly competitive. Not only were the usual protagonists of the Polish Championship out in force, but it was also a scoring round of the Slovak Championship. This did not put off Kajetanowicz however, who consistently set top-three stage times. His Subaru Impreza STR09 was a contender for victory throughout the opening day, until a spin cost Kajetanowicz half a minute, dropping the young Pole a handful of places down the leaderboard. He consequently ended the first day in fourth place surrounded by Super 2000 cars, but still leading the conventional Group N category.

Day two got off to a less promising start, as Kajetanowicz picked up a puncture at the end of the opening stage. Once more though, the Subaru Poland crew launched a flat-out fightback, ending the rally on the podium behind two Super 2000 cars. Having won Group N once more, it was another brilliant performance from Kajetanowicz and Baran.

A delighted Kajetanowicz commented at the finish: "Apart from the spin and the puncture, it was a perfect rally for us. Without those two setbacks, I think we could have been fighting for victory. Our Subaru Impreza STR09 was again absolutely fantastic and I really enjoyed myself driving it. The car is simply the ideal package that combines great performance with superb reliability. We didn't have the slightest technical problem from start to finish and the Symtech Racing team did another amazing job. Not only are we back in the hunt for the Group N title, but our chances of claiming the overall championship are far from over as well."

Wim De Boeck, from Symtech Racing, concluded: "This has been a great weekend for us again. Our crew drove an excellent rally, and our car proved to be worthy of their talent. We have shown everyone now that the Subaru Impreza STR09 is a truly competitive and reliable proposition."

The next round of the Polish Championship takes place at the Orlen Rally, from 19-20 September 2009.

Rzeszowski Rally: final overall classification
1. Grzyb-Mazur Abarth Punto Super 2000
2. Kuchar-Dymurski Peugeot 207 Super 2000 + 19.9
3. Kajetanowicz-Baran Subaru Impreza STR09 Gr. N + 33.9 1st Gp N
4. Solowow-Baran Peugeot 207 Super 2000 + 46.1
5. Oleksowicz-Obrebowski Peugeot 207 Super 2000 + 1:14.7

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008