Wilson wins McRae memorial
Stobart VK M-Sport Ford rally team crew Matthew Wilson/Scott Martin have won the 2008 Colin McRae Forest Stages Rally on Saturday against a star-studded field. Driving an 05-specification Ford Focus RS WRC the pair dominated the event to win by over one and a half minutes.

A raft of former World Rally Champions including Bjorn Waldegard, Hannu Mikkola and Ari Vatanen all joined Wilson in this momentous event to pay tribute to the late Colin McRae – 2005 World Rally Champion and one of the sport’s all time characters.

The pair had a faultless run in their Ramsport-prepared Focus RS as they won all four spectacular forest stages around the Perthshire region in central Scotland. A fifth stage was due to run but an accident to fellow Stobart Motorsport historic competitor Jimmy McRae caused the test to be cancelled. Both Jimmy and co-driver Andy Richardson were uninjured.

Also competing, in a Stobart-liveried Ford Escort MK2 was Colin’s brother Alister who finished fourth overall and won class 12 by over one minute. Alister capped of a fine performance by setting the second fastest time on the final completed test of the day.

With the event complete Wilson and Martin now head to Catalunya for their regular duties with the Stobart VK M-Sport Ford rally team as the FIA World Rally Championship heads into its 12th round this weekend on RallyRACC Catalunya – Rally de España.

Stobart VK M-Sport Ford Team Driver Matthew Wilson said:
“What a fantastic event and it is great we could come out here and win it in memory of Colin who was a driver I always looked up to as a young competitor coming into the sport. I remember being taught how to drive in the back field in a MK2 escort by Ari Vatanen when I was about eight and I never thought I would get the chance to compete against him one day or any of the other big names here. The organisers, officials and everybody involved in making this a special event did a great job and it must be said that everything was handled very well and everyone had a lot of fun.”

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008