Wilson wins IoD’s Director of the Year Award
M-Sport Ltd Managing Director Malcolm Wilson has been crowned the 2008 Cumbrian Director of the Year during the Institute of Directors (IoD) North West region Awards Ceremony last Thursday.

The Team Principal to dual FIA World Rally Champions BP Ford Abu Dhabi World Rally Team was shortlisted from 150 nominees to the final three and was then crowned with the award alongside some stiff competition.

Wilson’s competition finalists were Peter Barton of the global LED product design and manufacturers Forge Europa Ltd, and Sean Parnaby of New West Port Corporation Ltd. To be presented with the top award over such a standard of competition is a credit to the many years of hard work put in by Wilson, which has seen M-Sport evolve into one of the premier motorsport development and engineering firms in the world.

More than 600 of the North West’s business elite gathered together last Thursday evening at the City of Manchester Stadium, where the winners were announced by sports presenter Gabby Logan who hosted the awards.

M-Sport Managing Director Malcolm Wilson said:
“It is a great honour to receive such a high standard of award especially against the quality of other Directors in our region. Last year M-Sport received Cumbria’s Team of the Year Award as well as the MIA’s Rally Business of the Year and this year in the US we received Ford’s Recognition of Achievement Award so to receive yet another top level award is fantastic. A Director is only as strong as the team around him and I’m pleased to say that it is thanks to my amazing team at M-Sport that I have been recognised as Cumbria’s Director of the Year.”

Darrell Matthews, Regional Director of the IoD in the North West said:
“This is the fifth year we have run the awards and it has been fantastic to be reminded of the impressive expertise and range of industries we have here in the North West, especially in such economically turbulent times. The number of nominations has been a record this year and every individual was of an exceptionally high calibre. The winners and finalists are all well deserved and are true examples of the talent that exists in our region

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008