Michael Park << BEEF >> Trophy
On September 18th 2005, Michael PARK ("Beef") was killed in a tragic accident during the Wales Rally GB in a car driven by his long term partner Markko Martin. Michael is much missed by the entire WRC Community. A group of friends and colleagues inspired by Vince Laverne decided to perpetuate his memory by creating the Michael Park "Beef" Trophy.

The trophy is a bronze bust which has been created by the French artist Francois Chevalier and has been donated to the family of Michael.

Each season a smaller trophy will be awarded to a WRC co–driver who has best achieved the overall qualities associated with Michael during his career with consideration taken into account of actual results, attitude, commitment and any specific action or achievements. The decision will be made by a jury selected from the WRC community. In 2006 the inaugural trophy was presented to Daniel Elena.

For 2007 the jury comprised:
Guy Frequelin
Robert Reid
Fred Gallagher
Guido Rancati

They had to choose between 5 nominated co–drivers:
Denis Giraudet (France)
Phil Mills (Great Britain)
Ilka Minor (Austria)
Stephane Prevot (Belgium)
Timo Rautiainen (Finland)

We are pleased to announce that in 2007 Timo Rautiainen has been chosen as the second winner of the Michael Park "Beef" Trophy.

His achievements include the following;

Loyal co–driver to Marcus Grönholm throughout their WRC careers. World Rally Champion for co–drivers in 2000, 2002 and potentially in 2007. 5 WRC victories in 2007 season to date. Competing in his last World Rally this weekend in Wales before retirement. Highly committed and dedicated professional co–driver who was greatly respected and liked by Michael, his team mate in the 2005 season.

The trophy was presented to Timo by Daniel Elena prior to the start ceremony of Wales Rally GB in Cardiff last night.

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008