Ford and Grönholm extend WRC lead after thrilling win in NZ

BP–Ford World Rally Team

Rally New Zealand

Round 11 Fia World Rally Championship

BP–Ford World Rally Team moved further ahead in its quest to retain the FIA World Rally Championship manufacturers’ title with its sixth win of the season in Rally New Zealand today. It now leads by 46 points with five rounds remaining.

Marcus Grönholm and Timo Rautiainen won this 11th round of the series in a Ford Focus RS World Rally Car by just 0.3sec – the closest winning margin in the championship’s history.

They now lead the drivers’ standings by 10 points and the Finns became the most successful competitors in the event’s history with their fifth victory.

BP–Ford team–mates Mikko Hirvonen and Jarmo Lehtinen were third in another Focus RS to seal the team’s seventh double podium of the season. They remain third in the drivers’ championship.

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008