Pirelli International Rally 2007.
Guy Wilks dominated this year’s Pirelli International Rally. The event which marked the first round of the BRC saw Wilks earn his first international rally win in style. He secured a start to finish victory, leaving no room for any of his rivals.

Guy WilksSource of Picture.

"It feels fantastic to win my first International Rally," It Wilks Commented "It and to do it in a production car is excellent. The Pirelli Star Driver award is very special too, as the judges have all known me for a long time. I know it would take a big effort to impress them."

Gwyndaf Evans was Wilks’ main rival and he held a solid second position until the last stage when the transmission in his Lancer gave out under the strain. In the end it was Mark Higgins who took the runner up sport in the TEG Sport Subaru, gaining him vital points.

Guy WilksSource of Picture.

On the other hand Phillip Morrow was far from happy. The crew were lying third after two stages when a holed sump at the base of their engine put them out of action before even the start of stage three. Fellow Irishman Connor McCloskey was forced out of the event with gearbox problems, Whilst Robert Swann retired after an unlucky stage thirteen with mechanical troubles.

Ryan Champion took the final podium position thanks to Jonny Milner who loaned him the car. Had it not been for a puncture Champion may have gained a higher position. But he was more than happy with his result.

Guy WilksSource of Picture.

In fourth position overall, Wyn Humphreys safely reached the finish in his Subaru while top two-wheel drive honours went to Conrad Reutenbach in his Citroen C2. Nick Kenny was sixth overall ahead of David Meredith who came seventh. In eighth was Rod Gill.

All of the Competitors are now looking forward to round two of the championship which takes the teams onto the closed tarmac roads of the Jim Clark International Rally on the 25th – 27th May. The rally is a round of the Irish Tarmac Championship, so expect plenty of thrills and spills.

All pictures on this page will be removed by a relevant request only.

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008