Rally Mexico 2007.
Sebastian Loeb finished the rally of Mexico with an overall victory. Loeb who led from stage six onwards after the leader Petter Solberg was forced to retire due to mechanical problems, this led to Marcus Gronholm taking second position. Loeb completed the rally in 3 hours, 48 minutes 13.3 seconds, which left Gronholm 55.8 seconds behind Loeb.

Sebastian LoebSource of Picture.

The battle for third overall between Mikko Hirvonen, Dani Sordo and Chris Atkinson ended up with a two-man show as Hirvonen and Sordo pushed one another to the limit during the third leg. Atkinson on the other hand, dropped time early in the day when he was unable to match the pace of the Citroen C4 or the Ford Focus, which were ahead of him; he was eventually forced to finish in fifth.

Manfred Stohl drove a quiet rally but the Austrian finished the weekend in sixth overall taking his second point-finish of the 2007 season. Jari-Matti Latvala came seventh overall, which made it his second consecutive point-scoring rally.

Matthew Wilson finished rally Mexico eighth, taking a point in a WRC rally for his second time. Wilson drove a clean rally and managed to avoid a closed gate mid-stage on leg 2.

Matthew WilsonSource of Picture.

Henning Solberg came ninth place, despite taking his car for a roll on the first stage. Solberg was able to make a come back on leg two and three to finish the weekend.

Last year's surprise point's finisher, Gareth MacHale did not restart the rally after retiring from the second leg with suspension problems. Austin MacHale did not manage to complete the event since he rolled in his Ford Focus on the second stage of leg three. Austin MacHale and his co-driver, both suffered minor injuries but are both recovering well.

Henning SolbergSource of Picture.

All pictures on this page will be removed by a relevant request only.

Back To News
Ypres 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008 Finland 2008